Progress of Novel #1

The  novel proceeds apace and is currently beng edited. It is amazing how many errors, either of fact or construction can creep in, no matter how careful I am.

Fortunately, my main characters are their own people, so required no additional work. They ‘lived’ right from the start and dictated their progress quite readily without too  much interference from me!

My method of writing, if it can be called that, is to have a strong, overall idea of where the story has to go and then let situations develop as the result of my characters actions. I almost never write rigid plotlines, and never force a character to behave in a manner to suit the storyline. They know how to behave.

For me all writing comes from either the subconscious mind or an external ‘muse’ – I have no idea which, and honestly do not care, as long as the ideas keep on coming.

My beta readers have unedited copies at the moment so I will await their findings with some trepidation. More news when I have it.

About J.D.Hughes

Fiction writer. Supernatural Horror Mystery AND SOON THE SONG. Supernatural Thriller, NORTHMAN, on Amazon and three short stories: BOMBER, ISSUE 49 and THE 500 on Amazon and Smashwords. New novel to be published mid 2016 (if the ghosts don't interfere!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Progress of Novel #1

  1. GemmaB says:

    I like that way of working. I’m trying to start my own novel, but I’m finding it difficult to get started. I noticed you gave some advice on Wattpad to someone else. Would you do the same for me? I have a great idea but I just don’t know here to start. It’s SF, so I know you might be interested because you like Isaac asimov. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

    Like

  2. J.D.Hughes says:

    I’m not sure I am in a position to be giving advice, Gemma, but I have written a short, separate post about what works for me. If you still have difficulty, let me know.
    JD

    Like

Leave a Reply

